top of page

                                                                    Temple History

Sri Ranganaathaswaamy Temple, also known as Bhooloka Vaikuntam, Bhoga Mandapam, Tiruvaranga Tirupati, Srirangam, is built during the Sangam Kaalam (1st century), in the Dravidian style. This is also one of the Pancha Ranga Kshetraas. The Pancha Ranga Kshetraas are as follows:-

  1. Sri Ranganaatha Temple, Srirangapatna, Karnataka - Aadi Rangan

  2. Appakudathaan Perumaal Temple, Thiruper Nagar, Koviladi, Thanjavur - Appaala Rangan

  3. Sri Ranganaathaswaamy Temple, Srirangam, Trichy -  Madhya Rangan

  4. SaarngaPaani Perumaal Temple, Kumbakonam, Thanjavur - Vada Rangan

  5. Parimala Ranganaatha Perumaal Temple, Thiruindaloor,  Nagapattinam - Antya Rangan

Lord Ranganaatha is found in the reclining position (Pallikonda Perumaal or Kidanda kolam) between two rivers Thenthiru Kaaveri (South Kaaveri) and Vadathiru Kaavari (north side of river Kaaveri).

He is reclining under the Pranaavaakaara Vimaanam. Pranavam is the starting point for everything. Banks of Kaaveri can be referred to four purushaarthaas-

  1. The Southern side of Vada Thiru Kaaveri  -  Dharma

  2. The Northern side of Vada Thiru Kaaveri  -  Aartha

  3. The Southern side of Then Thiru Kaaveri  - Kaama

  4. The Northern side of Then Thiru Kaaveri  - Moksha​

The Cholaas had ​ruled for more than three hundred years over the Coromandel Coast and a larger portion of Eastern Deccan, where they had helped and advanced Hindu Culture to flourish.  

In the Thirteenth Century, cholaas were defeated by Paandyaas of Madurai, Tamil Nadu, and Hoysaalaas of Mysore, Karnataka.

Hoysaalaas of Mysore had taken a separate interest in the building of Srirangam Temple, leaving behind the inscriptions and buildings. The Hoysaalaas were driven away by the Pandyaas during the early fourteenth century.

The Mohammedans began to raid the Deccans frequently, facing a lot of resistance from the Hindu Kingdom, which had established the Vijayanagara in the year 1336. Vijayanagara had maintained its independence till 1556.

At the same time, Europeans had started appearing in South India.

During the sixteenth century, most of the traders and foreign travelers passed through but with the least interest in the hinterland, except for those routes, that had provided trade with Vijayanagara Empire.


  • 1600  - English East India Company formed.

  • 1604  - French Company formed.

  • 1680  -  King Aurangazeb's reign

  • 1746   -  Duplex captured Madras and after two years it was given to English.

  • 1752   - French was forced to surrender and Duplex was denied.

  • 1754   - Duplex was recalled.

  • 1760   - French attempt, led by Lally - Tollendal, was unsuccessful.

  • 1763 - French trading post, dismantled.

  • 1798 - French was defeated by the English, led by Wellesley, who had invaded Mysore.

  • 1799 - Fortress of Mysore was captured by the English. After this, Southern India came under the administration of England. The Carnatic came under the direct administration of the Madras Presidency.

Srirangam Paramapada Vaasal
bottom of page